Golf Report for the week ending 29/9/2020

Just a quick reminder that plant vouchers are in the process of being sent out by Inverell Shire Council.  If you can't use your voucher, please drop them into House to Home and let them know that they are for the Golf Club.

Please Note - A couple of new programs will run now that daylight saving is starting.

For social players without a handicap – if you complete a card and put it in at the end of your game you will go in a lucky draw for a free game.

For players with a handicap there will be a Dash for Cash running from Sunday to Friday. It will be $5 green fees and $5 comp with the winner take all of the comp cash.

The Inverell Open has been moved from Sunday October 18 to Saturday October 17. A mixed 4-ball Open will be played on the Sunday.

The Sports Council Day has been cancelled.

The Clubs AGM will take place Wednesday October 28 – Please collect, complete and return a nomination form prior to the day if you are interested in being on the Board or know someone that you would like to nominate.  

Men’s Results

Thursday’s 12-hole comp was won by Darrell Campbell, 29 points, in a 4-way countback. 2nd and 3rd spots were taken by Max Uebergang and Des Douglass. The putting was taken out by Jack Hepi with 17 putts.

Ted Edmonds had an impressive round in Saturday’s stableford. To take out the competition with 41 points. Jeremy Budda Deen was next best with 38 points. He was followed by Steve Glover, Noel cross, Brett Woodward, Rod Jones and Herb Cox all with 37 points.

Michael Williams and Greg Bushell finished Sunday’s stableford with 38 points to take the first two spots, Michael took the top position in a countback. Justin Bushell was next best with 37 points.

The men’s veterans played an ambrose on Tuesday. The winning pair was Col Flood and Nick Heagney. They were followed by Brian McLennan and Howard Finlen, John Foulcher and Phil Goddard, Bob Watson and Barry Young and Jim Shadlow and Col Paton.


Ladies Results

Anne Coote was the winner of Wednesday’s stableford. Anne finished with a solid 36 points. She was followed by Pat Pickering, 35, and then Jan Frater, Teena Myler, Sandy Cook and Kerry Nicholson all with 33 points.

On the same day the ladies finalised their matchplay knockout. Di Shadlow and Leonie Davidson played the final after 14 other ladies had been eliminated earlier. Di was two down after 9 holes but managed to come back to win the day with a par on the 18th.

Di Shadlow was back in the winning circle on Friday when she took out the stableford with 38 points in windy conditions. Leigh Hobbs was next best with 37 points followed by Sandra Williams with 36. Kerry Nicholson and Bronwyn Thorley finished with 33 points.

Tuesday’s veterans comp was taken out by newcomer Julie McRae. Helen Tickle was runner up.

The ladies will hold their AGM October 14– all members are encouraged to attend.


The next weeks program is. Wednesday, September 30, the ladies play a par event.

The men’s 12-hole comp is on Thursday.

Friday will be a stableford for the ladies.

Saturday, October 3, the men will play their Sutton Insurance Brokers Monthly Mug. It will also be the 2nd playoff round in the Order of Merit. The ladies will play a single stableford. Note – both top and bottom 9 will be open for the weekend.

Sunday will be a medley stableford.

On Tuesday, the men’s veterans will be back to a 9am shotgun start for October while adjusting to daylight saving. They will start on the bottom 9 provided it is open. The ladies’ veterans will play their 9-hole comp on the top 9.

Ted Edmonds - best on Saturday

Di Shadlow_1.JPG

Di Shadlow - matchplay winner